Houston High School Yearbook Named Jostens 2019 National Yearbook Program of Excellence

Jostens, the leading producer of yearbooks and student-created content, today announced that Houston High School’s yearbook program has been named a 2019 Jostens’ National Yearbook Program of Excellence. The National Yearbook Program of Excellence recognizes engaging yearbooks that reflect a broad representation of the student body while helping students develop 21st century skills such as communication, collaboration, and information and communication technologies (ICT) literacy.

The Houston High School award winning yearbook program is led by Editor Lena Stangel, and yearbook staff members Addie White, Drew Young, Allisen Foster, Allyson Ward, Bailey Mantor, Kierstyn Oberdorf, Vita Maksimov, Karlee Paulus, Lauren Stangel, and Colton Spriggs under the direction of Mrs. Jill York, Houston High School yearbook adviser.

Jostens’ National Yearbook Program of Excellence Awards are presented twice a year, in spring and in fall for yearbooks delivered during the school year. The Award was presented to the Houston High School yearbook program for achieving the defined criteria in each of three following categories: creating an inclusive yearbook, generating school engagement, and successfully managing the yearbook creation process.

“Jostens is proud to recognize those individuals who have acted as wonderful stewards by creating an exceptional yearbook for their school and community,” said Tammy Whitaker, Jostens VP and COO Yearbook Division. “Yearbooks are a critical part of telling a school’s story, and Jostens is dedicated to supporting yearbook staff members with state-of-the-art tools and resources that help celebrate moments that matter.”

The Houston High School yearbook program will receive a gem-studded recognition pin and a banner to display in school, so the entire school community will be aware of the outstanding achievement.

Founded in 1897, Jostens has produced school yearbooks for over 60 years. Schools rely on Jostens and their local Jostens representatives to provide a combination of journalism education and technology tools to deliver a learning experience that helps students develop 21st century skills in journalism, photography, writing and design, leadership and business while creating the permanent record of the school year. Jostens invests in state of the art technology, best in class service, educational curriculum and award winning print manufacturing platforms to plan, design, build and produce yearbooks.

Jostens Representative Karen Dufrane Baidel presents Yearbook staff members Lauren Stangel and Colton Spriggs along with advisor Mrs. York the banner and plaque received for being named a Jostens 2019 National Yearbook Program of Excellence.
2019 Houston Yearbook staff. Row One: Allisen Foster, Addie White, Editor Lena Stangel, Drew Young. Row Two: Karlee Paulus, Vita Maksimov, Maddy Brewer, Kierstyn Oberdorf, Lauren Stangel. Row Three: Advisor Jill York, Allyson Ward, Bailey Mantor, and Colton Spriggs.