Power of the Pen District 2020

Power of the Pen team members traveled on Saturday, January 25th to St. Mary’s Middle School where they wrote in three separate rounds to showcase their story writing abilities.

Seventh grader, Dylan Shaffer placed 10th out of over 100 writers, while eighth graders, Elizabeth Low placed 12th, and Chloe Drees placed 4th. The six team members of the eighth grade had combined scores earning them second place. The seventh grade team members included Desiree Baxter, Mya Lentz, Mason McDermit, Sophyah Metcalf, Dylan Shaffer, and Reagan Steiner. The eighth grade team members were Chloe Drees, Alexis Hamilton, Kayla Heine, Alayna Johnson, Elizabeth Low, and Keiren Thorpe. Those writers who placed will move on to Regional competition in March.

The 8th grade team with their 2nd place trophy. Front row left to right: Elizabeth Low, Lexie Hamilton, Kayla Heine. Second Row from left to right: Chloe Drees, Alayna Johnson, and Keiren Thorpe.